Xenophobia: South Africa Sends Special Delegation To Nigeria, Seven Other Countries

By 08:30 Mon, 16 Sep 2019 Comments

President of South Africa, Cyril Ramaphosa has sent out special envoys to deliver messages of solidarity to several Heads of State and Governments across Africa.

The team, comprising former minister in the presidency, Mr Jeff Radebe, Ambassador Kingsley Mmabolo and Dr. Khulu Mbatha, will visit Nigeria, Niger, Ghana, Senegal, Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Zambia.

The Special Envoys will deliver a message from President Ramaphosa regarding the incidents of violence that recently erupted in some parts of South Africa, which resulted in attacks on foreign nationals and destruction of property.

They are also expected to reassure fellow African countries that South Africa is committed to the ideals of pan-African unity and to the rule of law.

Beyond that, they will also brief governments in the identified countries about the steps that the South African government is taking to bring a stop to the attacks and to hold the perpetrators to account.

This comes days after 188 Nigerians where successfully evacuated from South Africa via an Air Peace Airline, following an order by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Advertisement pool


Related Article



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article