Jega, six INEC commissioners bow out Tuesday

By 03:23 Thu, 25 Jun 2015 Comments

Prof. Attahiru Jega

The five-year tenure of the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Attahiru Jega, expires on Tuesday next week.

Jega, who hails from Kebbi State, is to retire with six National Commissioners.

The former university vice chancellor had said he would not seek re-appointment after finishing his first tenure.

The other six National Commissioners whose tenures expire on the same day with Jega are Col. M.K. Hammanga (rear.), Adamawa state, (North-East); Dr. Ishmael Jikiri Igbani, Rivers state, (South-South); Prof. Lai Olurode, Osun state, (South-West); Dame Gladys Nne Nwafor, Abia state, (South-East); Mrs. Thelma Amata Iremiren, Delta state, (South-South); and Dr. Nuru Yakubu, Yobe state, (North-East).

Jega and these commissioners were inaugurated by former President Goodluck Jonathan on June 30, 2010.

Four other National Commissioners are to leave the Commission in July and August this year. They are Dr. Abdulkadir Oniyangi, Kwara State, (North-Central), whose tenure will expire on July 21; Mrs Amina Bala Zakari, Jigawa state, (North-West), whose tenure will also expire on July 21; Dr. Chris Iyimoga, Nasarawa state, (North-Central), whose tenure will expire on August 11; and Amb. (Dr.) Mohammed Ahmad Wali, Sokoto State, (North-West), whose tenure will also expire on August 11, 2015.

The commission, in its bulletin, added that the tenure of 16 Resident Electoral Commissioners have expired and they have left the Commission last week.

It added that a gala night was held in their honour last week Thursday at the Le Meridien Hotel, Uyo, Akwa Ibom.

The affected RECs were Ahmad Makama, Bauchi State; Haliru Tambuwal, Sokoto State; Abdullahi Danyaya, Niger State; Abubakar Wara, Kebbi State; Mr. Mike Igini, Delta State; Prof. Selina Oko, Ebonyi State; Hussaini Ahmed Mahuta, Katsina State; Dr. A.L. Ogunmola, Oyo State; Alh. Ibrahim Zarewa, Kano State; Prof. Tukur Sa’ad, Adamawa State; Dr. Emmanuel Onucheyo, Kogi State; Kassim Gana Gaidam, Yobe State; Mr. Timothy Ibitoye, Osun State; Amb. Rufus Akeju, Lagos State; Prof. C.E. Onukaogu, Abia State; and Ibrahim Bagobiri Marafa, Zamfara State.

But even as the commission is being depleted, following the progressive expiration of the tenures of National Commissioners, the commission, nevertheless, said that its work will continue apace and uninterrupted because it can always form a quorum.

Section 159 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended) states:

(1.) The quorum for a meeting of any of the bodies established by section 153 of this Constitution shall be not less than one-third of the total number of members of that body at the date of the meeting.

(2.) A member of such a body shall be entitled to one vote, and a decision of the meeting may be taken and any act or thing may be done in the name of that body by a majority of the members present at the meeting.

(3.) Whenever such body is assembled for a meeting, the Chairman or other person presiding shall, in all matters in which a decision is taken by vote (by whatever name such vote may be called) have a casting as well as a deliberative vote.

(4.) Subject to its rules of procedure, any such body may act or take part in any decision notwithstanding any vacancy in its membership or the absence of any member.

Advertisement pool


Related Article



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article